Local News

Windsor/Rutland County primary races set

By Stephen Seitz
The candidates have been set for the primary elections, this year to be held on Aug. 9.
The state is scheduled to deliver the ballots to the towns by June 24. Warnings for the primary election can be posted between June 30 and July 10.
Windsor County
President pro tem John Campbell is stepping down, and this has caused a flurry of filings for the three Senate seats up in Windsor County. Democratic incumbents Alice Nitka and Dick McCormack are filing for another two years, with state Rep. Alison Clarkson (D-Woodstock, Windsor-5) and Conor Kennedy of Hartland rounding out the Democratic race. They are joined on the Republican side by Republicans Mark Donka of Hartford, Randy Gray of Springfield, and Jack Williams of Weathersfield.
Rutland County
In Rutland County, all three Republican Senate incumbents — Brian Collamore and Kevin J. Mullin, both from Rutland Town, and Peg Flory from Pittsford — have filed for re-election. Joining them are Democrat Korrine Rodriguez of Rutland Town.
Over in the House of Representatives races, Rep. Patricia A. McCoy, the incumbent Republican from Poultney, will be running unopposed in District Rutland-1.
Four candidates will be vying for the pair of Rutland-2 seats. Incumbent state reps. Ronald “Bushey” Boucher, a Wallingford Republican, and Rep. Dave Potter (D-Clarendon) are running for another term. Joining them is Republican Tom Burditt of West Rutland, and Clarendon Democrat Michael Stimpfel.
Republican incumbent reps. Bill Canfield and Bob Helm, both from Fair Haven, are running unopposed for the two seats in Rutland-3. Rep. Tom Terenzini, a Republican from Rutland Town, is running alone to represent Rutland-4. So is Republican Rep. Peter J. Fagan, of Rutland City; he represents Rutland 5-1, and incumbent Republican Rep. Larry Cupoli, also of Rutland City, for District Rutland 5-2.
Democratic Rep. Herbert Russell is stepping down from his seat in Rutland 5-3. Rutland City residents Mary E. Howard and John E. Mattison, Jr. are running to replace him. Howard is a Democrat, while Mattison is a Republican.
Rutland City Republican Rep. Douglas Cage faces no challengers in his bid to keep his Rutland 5-4 seat. In Rutland-6, incumbent Republican Butch Shaw of Pittsford squares off against Democrat Stephen A. Carr, of Brandon.
In the Rutland-Bennington district, Wells Republican Jonas Rosenthal has decided to take on Progressive incumbent Rep. Robin Chesnut-Tangerman of Middletown Springs.
Incumbent Republican Rep. Job Tate of Mendon has no opposition for Rutland-Windsor-1, but incumbent Mount Holly Republican Dennis J. Devereux has a challenge from Ludlow Democrat Logan Nicoll in Rutland-Windsor-2.
Now that Alison Clarkson has decided to reach for the Senate, Woodstock Democrats Charlie Kimbell and Ron Miller are vying to replace her, joined by Republican K.T. Cappellini.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!