The Vermont Dept. of Labor has announced an increase to the state’s minimum wage. Beginning Jan. 1, 2022, the state’s minimum wage will become $12.55 per hour. This is an increase of $0.80 from the current minimum wage of $11.75.
This annual adjustment also impacts the minimum wage for tipped employees. The basic tipped wage rate for service, or “tipped employees,” equals 50% of the full minimum wage. On Jan. 1, 2022, the tipped minimum wage will increase from $5.88 to $6.28 per hour.
The minimum wage and tipped minimum wage are adjusted annually in accordance with Vermont law and take effect at the start of the new year. Any employee who believes they are not being compensated fairly, according to this law, is encouraged to contact the Dept. of Labor’s Wage and Hour Unit at 802-951-4083 or online at Labor.Vermont.gov/Rights-and-Wages.
For more information on the Vermont Dept. of Labor and some of its resources, visit: Labor.Vermont.gov.