News Briefs

Rutland South Rotary Club Scholarship recipients announced


Pictured (l-r): Elizabeth Bushey (Mill River), Ian Dansereau (Mill River), Zachary Hyde (RHS), Max Bushman (Stafford Technical Center), Beccalynn Dugan (Stafford Technical Center), Haley Andrulat (RHS), Olivia Lyons (RHS), Maricate Mangan (RHS), Kyra Traska (MSJ), Kyle Anagnos (MSJ), and Jillian LeBlanc (Proctor).

RUTLAND — The 2015 Rutland South Rotary Club Scholarship recipients are a group of dynamic individuals with impressive resumes and lofty career goals. In keeping with the motto of Rotary, “Service Above Self” these high school seniors also give back to their communities through an assortment of public service projects.

Scholarship awards amounting annually to $13,500 are Rutland Rotary South’s biggest philanthropy. In fact, this event has spanned over 36 years and to date, around $360,000 has been given away to deserving Rutland Area high school seniors.

The schools that participate in the program are Mill River Union High School, Mount Saint Joseph Academy, Proctor High School, Rutland High School, and Stafford Technical Center. The awards are $1,500 and $1,000.

2015 recipients:

Mill River Union High School: Ian Dansereau ($1,500) and Elizabeth Bushey ($1,000)

Mount Saint Joseph Academy: Kyle Anagnos ($1,500) and Kyra Traska ($1,000)

Proctor High School: Jillian LeBlanc ($1,500)

Rutland High School: Olivia Lyons ($1,500), Maricate Mangan ($1,000), Haley Andrulat ($1,000) and Zachary Hyde ($1,000)

Stafford Technical Center: Beccalyn Dugan ($1,500) and Max Bushman ($1,000)

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!