Rules of the Game

QUESTION: Toni and Vern are playing is a tournament. On the 9th hole, Vern steps on his ball mark in the act of repairing it. He incidentally presses down a spike mark on his line of putt. Vern is unsure if he incurred a penalty for touching the line of putt. Toni says “ depends.” Is she correct?

ANSWER: Vern should be penalized unless the spike mark was so close to the ball mark that he could not repair the ball mark without affecting the spike mark. Vern is left with the call. Toni is correct. See USGA Decisions On The Rules of Golf 201-2015, 16-1a/16.

Golf clinics continue on Saturdays 10:30-12-noon.  Private lessons can also be arranged (422-4653). Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!