Local News

RCSWD solid waste implementation plan approved by the state

Recycling, leaf/yard debris & food scraps need consideration

The Vermont Agency of Natural Resources (ANR) requires the Rutland County Solid Waste District (RCSWD) to submit a Solid Waste Implementation Plan (SWIP) every five years for approval. The SWIP sets forth how the district intends to meet Vermont state standards in regard to municipal solid waste and recycling. The SWIP encompasses all the member towns of the district for this purpose. The member towns of RCSWD are: Brandon, Castleton, Clarendon, Danby, Hubbardton, Ira, Killington, Mendon, Mount Tabor, Mount Holly, Pittsford, Poultney, Proctor, Rutland City, Wallingford, Wells and West Rutland.

The current five year plan was approved by ANR on Dec. 29, 2020.

With the passage of Vermont’s Universal Recycling Law (ACT 148) in 2012, a timeline was established which has incrementally raised the bar in regard to dealing  with diversion rates. On top of the requirement of mandatory recycling, diversion of material such as construction and demolition material, leaf and yard debris, and food residue has now been included in the mix. The result creates an atmosphere where RCSWD will work collaboratively with the state, residents, businesses, institutions, haulers, and other stakeholders to divert valuable resources from the landfill and meeting or exceeding the State’s goal of reducing the disposal rate of municipal solid waste.

The full plan  is available at rcswd.com.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!