Featured, Local News

Allaire unseated, Rutland city option tax passes

Staff report

Rutland city has a new mayor.

Mike Doenges, who served as the Board of Aldermen president, beat incumbent Mayor David Allaire on Town Meeting Day, March 7 by 393 votes in unofficial results. 

Allaire had been mayor since 2017.

Doenges received 57% of the vote and voter turnout was about 25%. 

Rutland city voters approved a 1% sales option tax 1,729 to 1,216.

The city estimated prior to the vote that the option tax would generate $1-$1.2 million. The money will go d be used for capital improvement, the city pension deficit and property tax relief. 

A sales option tax has been discussed by the Board of Aldermen several times in the past but was never put before voters.

“We have some looming issues in front of us,” Allaire said prior to the vote. “Unless we find an outside revenue resource, we’re not going to be able to tackle them.” 

Rutland city was one of five municipalities — along with Stowe, Jamaica, Londonderry and Shelburne — that voted to add the local taxes on sales to the 1% tax it already applies to meals, alcohol and lodging.

Longtime Board of Aldermen member Thomas DePoy also lost his seat in his pursuit of his ninth term.Sherri Prouty and John Cioffi, Jr. were also not elected. 

Joe Barbagallo, who was appointed to finish out the term of Devon Neary, was the top vote-getter, followed by incumbent Carrie Savage, then newcomer Alex Adams, incumbent William Gillam, newcomer Kiana McClure and newcomer John McCann.



Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!