On October 11, 2023

Vermont Ski & Snowboard Hall of Fame to celebrate 2023 inductees October 14 at Killington

Saturday, Oct. 14 at 5 p.m.—KILLINGTON— The “Who’s Who” of Vermont’s ski and snowboarding world will gather at Killington’s new K1 Lodge on Saturday, Oct. 14 to celebrate the Induction of the class of 2023 into the Vermont Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame. The event, hosted by the Vermont Ski and Snowboard Museum in Stowe, will also honor the recipients of the Paul Robbins Journalism Award and First Tracks. One of the highlights of the event will be the premier of short biographical films created for each inductee shown before their acceptance speeches.

This year’s Hall of Fame inductees includes Howard Buxton, a leader in the evolution of the sport of biathlon, extreme skier John Egan, Diane and Tim Mueller, former owners of Okemo Mountain Resort, and professional snowboarder and Founder of Stratton’s Green Mountain Series, Suzi Rueck. Paul Robbins Journalism Award is going to ski writer and author, David Goodman. The First Tracks Award will be presented to Tara Geraghty-Moats.

Since 2002, the Vermont Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame has recognized more than 80 people who have made snowsports history in the state. The purpose of the Hall of Fame is to honor athletes, special contributors, and pioneers of Vermont skiing and riding who promoted and/or contributed to their sports in Vermont; to document the histories of Inductees in the Museum’s collection, and to recognize their accomplishments through the Induction Ceremony. The Hall of Fame committee looks at candidates in three categories: Athletes, Pioneers, and Special Contributors.

All are welcome to join the Inductees and fellow ski and snowboard enthusiasts at a reception and Induction Ceremony on Oct. 14 at 5 p.m. Hearty appetizers and hors d’oeuvres will be served. Vermont beers and signature cocktails will be available at a cash bar. Tickets are limited and usually sell out. For tickets and more information about the Vermont Ski & Snowboard Hall of Fame, visit www.vtssm.org. Sponsors include KneeBinding and Killington Resort.

Howard Buxton

Vermont native, Howard Buxton was unquestionably a great leader within the sport of biathlon in the United States. In 1973 he was tasked by the Vermont National Guard with moving the US Army biathlon training facility from Alaska to Vermont.

Buxton led the evolution of a small US Army sport to an independent organization with its own governing body, the US Biathlon Association (USBA). Buxton served as its first president. He served as the Chief of Competition for Biathlon at the1980 Lake Placid Winter Olympics and went on to be involved in five more Olympic Winter Games. He was a member of the US Olympic Executive Committee from 1988 to 1996.

He was a distinguished member of the Vermont Army National Guard, where he retired as a brigadier general.

John Egan

Longtime Mad River Valley resident and renowned Sugarbush ambassador, John Egan cut his teeth on the US Pro Tour, Mogul Tour, and at the US Snowboarding Championships.

In the early 80’s he emerged as a prominent extreme skiing figure starring in seventeen Warren Miller films, captivating audiences with his daring descents of treacherous mountain terrain by pushing the boundaries of what was considered possible in the sport at the time.

Egan has inspired countless individuals to embrace the spirit of adventuring and exploring. Today, John Egan continues to ski, explore, and share his passion for the mountains. He serves as a mentor and guide for aspiring skiers, passing on his knowledge and wisdom to the next generation. 

He is recognized around the world as a pioneer of Extreme Sports. 

Diane and Tim Mueller

The dynamic couple of Diane and Tim Mueller have made significant contributions to the world of skiing and snowboarding. Together, they played instrumental roles in the development and success of Okemo Mountain Resort, in Ludlow, Vermont.

The couple purchased Okemo in 1982. Through dedication, hard work, and a 100 million dollar investment, they expanded the trail network, built terrain parks, added an extensive snowmaking system, acquired two nearby golf courses and developed Jackson Gore Village and Adventure Center, making Okemo a successful year-round resort.

Over the years, the Mueller’s efforts garnered widespread recognition and accolades. Okemo consistently ranked among the top resorts in the East. In 2018 the Mueller’s sold Okemo Mountain Resort to Vail

Suzanne (Suzi) Rueck

In 1986, Stratton skier, Suzi Rueck applied her ski racing skills to win her first US Open Snowboarding title in Slalom and 2nd place in Giant Slalom. She was immediately signed as a Burton Snowboard team rider and began travelling the world as a sponsored rider. 

A mainstay at Stratton, Rueck helped develop a snowboard school and started a snowboard racing and freestyle program for kids and coached a generation of snowboarders including Olympic gold medalist Ross Powers and Olympian Tricia Byrnes.

Rueck founded the Green Mountain Race Series, a feeder program that prepared young riders such as Lindsay Jacobellis, Jeremy Jones, Kelly Clark and others to move to bigger New England Cup Races, FIS events, and the US Open. 

Bringing the east and west coast together, Rueck helped form the USASA and the USSA Nationals. She worked tirelessly on the series she founded creating a path that helped produce many of the top level snowboard athletes in the world.

David Goodman – Paul Robbins Journalism Award

David Goodman, an award-winning journalist, who has inspired countless skiers to make their own tracks in the winter wilderness, will be presented with the 2023 Paul Robbins Award for excellence in snow sports journalism. Goodman is the best-selling author of Best Backcountry Skiing in the Northeast, which is widely known as “the bible of Northeastern backcountry skiing.” 

He writes for the New York Times about skiing, weaving in issues such as climate change, social justice, and community revitalization. He has been a contributing editor for Ski, Powder, and Backcountry magazines, and his articles have also appeared in Outside, Mother Jones, Boston Globe, and other local and national publications. He is the author of over a dozen books, including four New York Times bestsellers.

Tara Geraghty-Moats – First Tracks Award

Tara Geraghty-Moats, an accomplished Nordic skier, biathlete, ski jumper and Nordic Combined competitor will be presented with the First Tracks Award in memory of Ian Graddock. This award honors a young Vermonter, under 35, who is contributing to, and enriching skiing or snowboarding in Vermont and/or beyond. Awardees will serve to provide models for future generations to emulate.

Geraghty-Moats began training and skiing competitively at a young age notching top results in the Junior USA Junior Biathlon Nationals, Junior Nordic Nationals and Junior National Ski Jumping events. She earned a spot on the U.S. Ski Jumping National Team. In 2020/21 she was the overall World Cup Nordic Combined winner. Tara recently joined the U.S. Biathlon Team and trains with the U.S. National Guard, where she completed basic training in 2023. 

The Vermont Ski and Snowboard Museum thrives by collecting, preserving, and celebrating Vermont’s skiing and snowboarding history. The Vermont Ski and Snowboard Museum is a 501c3 non-profit organization that welcomes visitors from around the world to share, reminisce, and enjoy the collections and their stories. The museum creates visually stimulating and historically in-depth exhibits, along with year-round educational programming and statewide community events.

For more information, visit: vtssm.org/hall-of-fame.

Do you want to submit feedback to the editor?

Send Us An Email!

Related Posts