By Alan Jeffery
QUESTION: Carol and Chad are playing in a tournament. After finishing play on the 10th hole, Chad borrows Carol’s putter and makes a number of practice strokes. Carol says Chad should be penalized for using her putter to practice putting. Is she correct?
ANSWER: Practice putting is permitted on the putting green of the last hole played, which was the 10th hole. The practice stroke was not used in Chad’s score. Chad is not penalized. See USGA Decisions on the Rule of Golf, 2014-2015, 4-4a/13
Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings 10:30 to 12-noon. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.