Claire and Josh are playing in a tournament. On the 4th hole, Claire’s tee shot lands in the fairway. On approaching the ball, she discovers the ball is unplayable and lifts it under the unplayable ball rule. She then realizes the ball is in an area marked as ground under repair. She then proceeds to drop the ball outside the ground under repair markings without penalty. Josh states once she has committed to drop a ball under the ball unplayable rule, she must continue and accept the penalty stroke. Is Josh correct?
As long as Claire has not put the ball into play under the unplayable ball rule, she is not precluded from taking relief without penalty under the ground under repair rule. Josh is incorrect. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2014-2015, 28/13.
Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings, 10:30-12-noon. We continue to work on individual concerns. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.