Rules of the game

QUESTION: Logan and Brad are playing in a tournament. On the 7th hole, Brad strokes his ball onto the green. When he arrives at his ball, he rotates it to line up the trademark with the hole.  The ball was not lifted, marked or changed in its position. Logan says Brad should be penalized because he did not mark his ball before rotating it. Is Logan correct?

ANSWER: A ball may be lifted, rotated or touched on the putting green after it has been marked. If Brad had marked his ball there would be no penalty. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2014-2015, 18-2a/33.

Golf clinics will continue on Saturdays, 10:30-12-noon. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about. For more information call GMNGC, 422-4653.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!