Rules of the Game

QUESTION: Brad and Logan are playing in a tournament. On the 15th hole, Brad strokes his ball into a wet area. Casual water is not visible before or after he has taken his stance. He takes his stance a second time and presses down his right foot. Water then appears around the sole of his shoe. Brad says he will take relief citing abnormal ground conditions. Logan says Brad is not allowed relief. Is Logan correct?

ANSWER: Under the definition of casual water, undue effort to find casual water does not allow relief. Logan is correct. He knows the rules. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2014-2015, 25/4.

Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings, 10:30-12-noon. Private lessons can also be arranged by calling GMNGC (422-GOLF). Remember, the swings the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!