Rules of the Game

QUESTION: Corey and Justin are playing in a tournament. On the fourth hole, Justin’s ball lands in an area where the stakes defining a water hazard were improperly installed. Clearly, the area where the ball landed was part of the hazard but technically, the ball was outside the hazard. Justin claims the ball was within casual water because it was outside the markers of a water hazard. Is Justin correct?

ANSWER: Clearly, the committee made an error in the marking of the water hazard. The ball should be played as a ball in a water hazard. A player is not allowed to take advantage of this situation. Because Justin’s ball was within the natural boundaries of the hazard, Justin is incorrect in his claim of the ball being in casual water. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2016-2017, 26/2.

Golf clinics will be held Saturday, April 30 from 10:30 a.m.-12 p.m. We will work on individual concerns. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!