Rules of the Game

By Alan Jeffery

Teaching Professional at Green Mountain National Golf Course

Question: Carol and Chad are playing in a tournament. On the 14th hole, Carol strokes her tee shot into an area where there is a high rough preceding an area of casual water which is not visible from the tee. Both players search for the ball but are unable to find it. Carol, believing the ball is in the casual water, decides to take a drop without penalty. Chad says that it is not known or virtually certain the ball was in casual water and therefore, Carol may not proceed under the casual water rule. Is Chad correct?

Answer: Because it was not known or virtually certain the ball was in casual water, Carol may not proceed under the abnormal ground condition Rule (25-1C). See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2016-2017, 25-1c/

Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings, 10:30 a.m.-12 p.m. We continue to work on individual concerns. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about. Private lessons are also available by calling me at GMNGC (802-422-GOLF).

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!