Parity prevails in weekly NASCAR divisions

WEST HAVEN–Devil’s Bowl Speedway has been the site of more surprise moments during the summer of 2014 than at perhaps any other point in its 48-year history.  While past seasons have seen one or two drivers dominate a particular division, nothing seemed to be guaranteed this year.

Parity has ruled the Rutland County track during weekly NASCAR Whelen All-American Series events.  Through 13 feature races for the headline Modified division, nine different drivers have carried the checkered flag.  20-year-old Cody Sargen broke into the winner’s circle last Friday, joining Jason Durgan and Johnny Scarborough as first-time winners during the year.  Veterans Todd Stone, Ron Proctor, Leon Gonyo, and Vince Quenneville, Jr., have won, as have up-and-comers Jessey Mueller and Joey Roberts.

The Late Model division’s championship fight sees veteran Jamie Fisher, sophomore Josh Masterson, and 17 year-old Emily Packard just a dozen points apart at the top.  Each has won through the first nine races, along with Robert Bryant, Jr., Bucko Branham, and Nick Sweet; Packard and Branham were first-time winners.

In the Renegade class, point leader Robert Gordon last week snapped a three-race streak of first-time winners after Richard Lowrey, III, Jamy Begor, and Shawn Duquette added their names to the record book; sophomore Stephen Donahue has also won.  Mini Stock point leader Chuck Bradford has three wins, but has been beaten during the year by brothers Bobby and Chris LaVair, Mike Whalen, Jr., defending champion Jake Noble, and first-timers Kyle Watrous and John McCarron.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!