Local News

Honor society welcomes new members

On Thursday, May 11, friends and families gathered at the Rutland High School Theater to honor the 2017 inductees to the National Technical Honor Society. Every year Stafford Technical Center inducts students to the society who have met the criteria of an 88 or better in the student’s academic classes and a 90 or better in their program area as well as having stellar attendance.  Six sending schools were represented as well as one homeschooled student.

This year the following students were inducted:

Courtney Bane, Cosmetology 1, homeschool student

Andrew Cassidy, Public Safety, Fair Haven Union High School

Lily Crowley, Digital Arts, Rutland High School

Courtney Lee, Automotive technology, Otter Valley Union High School

Austin May, Power Mechanics and Welding, West Rutland High School

Madeline Morse, Culinary Arts, Poultney High School

Eric Morton, Culinary Arts, Rutland High School

Samuel Norton, Digital Arts, Mill River High School

Brooke Otto, Digital Arts, Fair Haven Union High School

Lillianne Seward, Power Mechanics and Welding, Mill River High School

Janine Smith, Health Careers, Mill River High School

Photo courtesy Cindy Dunigan
National Technical Honor Society inductees read the NTHS Pledge at the closing of the induction ceremony. Pictured left to right are Madeline Morse, Courtney Lee, Andrew Cassidy, Eric Morton, Lily Crowley, Courtney Bane, Brooke Otto, Austin May, Lillianne Seward and Janine Smith.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!