News Briefs

Basketball program emphasizes sportsmanship

RUTLAND—Rutland Recreation’s basketball tournament had a different focus this year: sportsmanship! The tournament, which held 44 games in less than 10 days, took place Feb. 24 to March 3 at Rutland high school.

New this year, a sportsmanship code of conduct was read at the beginning of each game by local high school athletes from Rutland and MSJ and college athletes from Castleton. This code stated what is to be expected out of the players, coaches and spectators during their games.

Also new, a sportsmanship award was given to one student athlete, per team, per game who demonstrated the best examples of sportsmanship, which included but were not limited to giving your best effort at all times, cheering on the opposing team and accepting the officials’ calls.

To help deliver the pregame speech and select the sportsmanship award recipients, over 35 high school student athletes volunteered from Rutland High School, MSJ and Castleton University as well as representation from the city fire department and the recreation department.

“I was impressed with the positive responses we received from parents and the athletes, and I really enjoyed watching high school athletes watch the game with a different purpose,” said Rutland Rec Superintendent Kim Peters. “Rutland Recreation and Parks is determined to continue with positive sportsmanship and quality programs for our community,” said Peters.

Rutland Recreation and Parks congratulates this year’s sportsmanship award recipients on their hard work and positive attitude no matter the outcome of the game.

This year’s award recipients are:

Chittenden-Mendon: James Williams, Lexi Napolitano, Rowan Jalbert, James Dorr, Martha Cotter, Annabelle Bridge

Brandon: Logan Denis, Rachel Kingston, Miley Lape, Peyton Chisamore, Owen Thomas, Lauren Palmer, Jacob Gaboriault, Brianna Sheldrick

Castleton: Jonathan Roberts, Andrew Barker, Tanner Raymond, Jacob Demgard, Madi Hayes

Christ The King: Cooper Bernel, Carmody Fortier, Emma Cosgrove, Cooper Wright, Caroline McCormack

Clarendon: Paige LaPoint, Max McKee

Middlebury: John Jennings, Emersyn Brookman, Camden Whitlock, Matthew Nop, Dylan Frost

Pittsford: Riley Connaughton, Bella Cassel, Nolan Tripp, Tanner Derepentigny, Grace King

Proctor: Scott Landon, Ava Fowler, Olivia Cole-Bugay, Brooklyn Kimball, Grace King

Rutland Rec: Keira McKeen, Marcus Bennett, Will Sabataso, Gavin Salzmann, Charles “Chucky” Gallagher, Trenton Hill, Joseph Brothers, Teigan Gurney, Matthew Reveal, Evan Hill, Trevor Doane, Hunter McGraw, Braden Jensen, Rylie LaFontaine, Gabrielle Blair, Kallie Brooker

Rutland Town: Kaelin Oxley, Brandon Theriault, Grayden Bellomo, Quinn Velde, Charlie Trapana, Gabe Blanchard, Camilla Marcy, Trent Gile, Cole Erickson, Will Fuller, Andrew Coburn, Sydney Gile, Lanza Bellomo

Wallingford: Caleb Sprague, Emma Seward, Toby Pytlik

West Rutland: Olivia Pratt, Kyle Frankenburg, Grady Johnson, Charlie Duncan, Lillian Sullivan, Abby Lanfear, Aubrey Beaulieu, Sophia May

Photo courtesy Kim Peters
Students received a sportsmanship award for demonstrating the practice.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!