Tag Archives: Rules of the game

Sports
June 13, 2018

Are strokes between holes practice strokes?

Question:  Carol and Dale are competing against each other in a stroke play tournament. On the fourth hole, Dale has holed out with a 4 and Carol lies 5 in the bunker.  Carol is aware she has lost the hole and practices a bunker shot. …

Sports
October 5, 2016

Testing the surface

QUESTION: Patty and Walter are playing in a match play tournament. Both players have stroked their tee shots onto the seventh green. Walter, who is nearer the hole, marks, lifts his ball and sets the ball aside. After Patty putts, Walter rolls the ball back to where it…

Sports
September 28, 2016

Accidental flagstick moves

QUESTION: Boris and Cliff are playing in a tournament. On the 4th hole, both balls rest on the green. As the balls are somewhat close to the hole, Cliff uses the flagstick to determine which ball is away. In the act of measuring, he drops…

Sports
September 14, 2016

Teed ball tips over

QUESTION: Rich and Jim are playing in a tournament. On the 6th hole, Jim takes a practice swing in the teeing area. Unintentionally, he strikes and moves his teed ball with his club. Rich says Jim should be penalized a stroke for moving a ball…

Sports
September 7, 2016

Does touching the sand incur a penalty?

By: Alan Jeffery

QUESTION: Susan and Bill are playing in a tournament. On the seventh hole, Susan’s ball rests just outside a bunker. She takes her stance in the bunker, which she believes gives her the best opportunity to get on the green. She then makes…

Sports
August 31, 2016

Deflecting off a maintenance vehicle

QUESTION: Carol and Dale are playing in a match play tournament. On the fourth hole, Carol strokes her tee shot. While the ball is in motion, it strikes a course maintenance vehicle and lands out of bounds. She claims the vehicle should not have been there…

Sports
August 17, 2016

Movable obstructions are not penalized

QUESTION: Terry and Jack are playing in a tournament. On the 7th hole, Terry’s tee shot lands in a water hazard in front of the green. The ball is playable but it is directly behind a stone, which has broken away from a retaining wall (an…

Mental interferences do qualify
Sports
July 1, 2016

Mental interferences do qualify

QUESTION:  Gregg and Andrew are playing in a tournament. On the 18th hole, the balls of both players lie on the green and Andrew is farther from the hole. Gregg’s ball lies near Andrew’s ball although it is not in the line Andrew would need to…

Lifting and cleaning balls
Sports
June 22, 2016

Lifting and cleaning balls

QUESTION: Michelle and Ed are playing in a tournament. On the 16th hole, “ground under repair” lines have recently been painted on the fairway. Michelle’s tee shot has run over the paint and the paint has adhered to the ball. Her ball lies in the “ground under…

Sports
June 1, 2016

Rules of the Game: Intentional Knock?

QUESTION: Mindy and Josh are playing in a tournament. On the 3rd hole both players walk to the green where their balls rest. Mindy is farther away and prepares to putt. She asks Josh to mark his ball, which is in her line.  Josh marks…