Tag Archives: Alan Jeffery

Sports
June 13, 2018

Are strokes between holes practice strokes?

Question:  Carol and Dale are competing against each other in a stroke play tournament. On the fourth hole, Dale has holed out with a 4 and Carol lies 5 in the bunker.  Carol is aware she has lost the hole and practices a bunker shot. …

Mental interferences do qualify
Sports
July 1, 2016

Mental interferences do qualify

QUESTION:  Gregg and Andrew are playing in a tournament. On the 18th hole, the balls of both players lie on the green and Andrew is farther from the hole. Gregg’s ball lies near Andrew’s ball although it is not in the line Andrew would need to…

Lifting and cleaning balls
Sports
June 22, 2016

Lifting and cleaning balls

QUESTION: Michelle and Ed are playing in a tournament. On the 16th hole, “ground under repair” lines have recently been painted on the fairway. Michelle’s tee shot has run over the paint and the paint has adhered to the ball. Her ball lies in the “ground under…

Sports
June 1, 2016

Rules of the Game: Intentional Knock?

QUESTION: Mindy and Josh are playing in a tournament. On the 3rd hole both players walk to the green where their balls rest. Mindy is farther away and prepares to putt. She asks Josh to mark his ball, which is in her line.  Josh marks…

Rules of the Game: The cause of movement
Sports
May 31, 2016

Rules of the Game: The cause of movement

QUESTION: Connie and Howie are playing in a tournament. On the 14th hole, Connie’s ball rests on the green. Close to the ball is a twig (loose impediment). Connie removes the twig, but in the process of removal, she accidentally moves the ball with…

Rules of the Game: Ball-eating rough
Sports
May 23, 2016

Rules of the Game: Ball-eating rough

QUESTION: Terry and Roman are playing in a tournament. On one of the holes, Terry strokes his ball to the right rough, which includes a water hazard—it’s so rough it could eat up a ball and is past the out of bounds markers. If the…

Rules of the Game
Sports
May 11, 2016

Rules of the Game

Live insect interference

QUESTION:  Peter and John are playing in  tournament. On the second hole, Peter finds a live insect crawling on his ball on the putting green. Because the live insect is not adhering to the ball, it is considered a loose impediment, Peter…

Rules of the Game
Sports
May 6, 2016

Rules of the Game

QUESTION: Corey and Justin are playing in a tournament. On the fourth hole, Justin’s ball lands in an area where the stakes defining a water hazard were improperly installed. Clearly, the area where the ball landed was part of the hazard but technically, the ball…

Rules of the Game
Sports
April 27, 2016

Rules of the Game

By Alan Jeffery

Teaching Professional at Green Mountain National Golf Course

Question: Carol and Chad are playing in a tournament. On the 14th hole, Carol strokes her tee shot into an area where there is a high rough preceding an area of casual water which…

Rules of the Game
Sports
October 7, 2015

Rules of the Game

QUESTION: Steve and Ann are playing in a tournament. On the 16th hole, Ann strokes her ball into the rough. When she gets to the ball, she deems the ball unplayable. However, she then discovers the ball is lying in ground under repair.

She lifts the…