Sports
May 31, 2016

Rules of the Game: The cause of movement

Rules of the Game: The cause of movement

QUESTION: Connie and Howie are playing in a tournament. On the 14th hole, Connie’s ball rests on the green. Close to the ball is a twig (loose impediment). Connie removes the twig, but in the process of removal, she accidentally moves the ball with her foot.

She says there is no penalty if the ball is moved on the putting green in the process of removal (Rule 23-1). Howie says she is wrong. There is a one stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced. 

Is Howie correct?

ANSWER: Howard knows that Rule 23-1 states that the player suffers no penalty if the ball is accidentally moved in the process of direct removal of a loose impediment on the putting green. However, the moving of the ball must be directly attributable to the removal of the loose impediment. Clearly, the removal of the loose impediment did not cause the ball to move. Her foot caused the ball to move. Howie is correct. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2016-2017, 23-1/11.

Golf clinics continue to be conducted Saturday mornings, 10:30-12-noon. Private lessons can also be arranged by calling GMNGC, 422-GOLF. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

RRCC_WorldCup_Play2

Share This Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *