May 21, 2015

Rules of the game

QUESTION: Greg and Andrew are playing in a tournament. On the 12th hole, Greg strokes his ball into an area full of tree roots and the ball rests on the roots. He swings at the ball and fails to move it. He deems the ball unplayable and returns to the teeing area playing 4. Andrew says “hold it”. Is Andrew correct?

ANSWER: Rules allow a player to play his ball at a spot from which the original ball was last played from. In the above case, the last spot was the tree roots and not the tee. Andrew is correct. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2014-2015, 28/7.

Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings, 10:30-12-noon.

For more information call GMNGC, 422-4653. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Alan Jefferey is a professional golf instructor at Green Mountain National

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *