Live insect interference
QUESTION: Peter and John are playing in tournament. On the second hole, Peter finds a live insect crawling on his ball on the putting green. Because the live insect is not adhering to the ball, it is considered a loose impediment, Peter removes the insect. In the removal of the insect, the ball moves. John says there is a penalty for causing the ball to move. Is John correct?
ANSWER: Peter proceeded correctly. However, if the ball was in the fairway, Peter would have incurred a penalty for causing the ball to move. The difference is whether the ball was on the green or on the fairway. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of,Golf, 2016-2017, 23-1/5
Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings, 10 a.m.-12 p.m. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.