QUESTION: Steve and Ann are playing in a tournament. On the 16th hole, Ann strokes her ball into the rough. When she gets to the ball, she deems the ball unplayable. However, she then discovers the ball is lying in ground under repair.
She lifts the ball deeming the procedure commits her to proceed under the unplayable ball rule (Rule 28). Is she correct?
Steve, always a gentleman, states that because she has not yet put a ball into play, she is not precluded from taking relief without penalty under the ground under repair rule. He certainly knows the rules. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2014-2015, 28/13.
Golf clinics have concluded for the year 2015. It has been my pleasure to work with those that attended the Saturday morning clinics. Until 2016, keep swinging and remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.
Alan Jeffery is a golf professional at GMNGC.