Sports
July 1, 2016

Mental interferences do qualify

Mental interferences do qualify

QUESTION:  Gregg and Andrew are playing in a tournament. On the 18th hole, the balls of both players lie on the green and Andrew is farther from the hole. Gregg’s ball lies near Andrew’s ball although it is not in the line Andrew would need to make the putt. It does not interfere with Andrew’ putt. Does Andrew have the right to have the ball lifted if it could cause mental interference?

ANSWER: Under the Rules of Golf, a player may have another ball lifted if the ball interferes either mentally or physically with his play. Andrew, therefore, can have Gregg’s ball lifted. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2016-2017, 22/1.

Golf clinics continue Saturday mornings, 10:30-12. Private lessons can also be arranged by calling GMNGC, 422-GOLF. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Share This Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *